Euro Tour. Omega Masters Thomas Björn Wins Play-Off. September 08 2013

Thomas Björn, the 2011 Champion wins again at the Omega European Masters at Crans-sur-Sierre, in Switzerland. Thomas Bjorn  (Getty Images) Thomas Björn / Getty Images Thomas won the two-man play-off to win once again the Omega European Masters title, sinking a 12ft birdie putt on the first play-off hole. Thomas shot a final round of  -6 under par 65 to reach his -20 under par total. Yesterday's 61 man Craig Lee returned a more modest -4 under par 67 final round to finish on the same total as Thomas. Thomas said it was nice to win again; “It was nice to do that in a playoff. I’ve had a hard time dealing with pressure situations and there is no more pressure than that. It was nice. I had a really good run through the summer and did not really get close enough. I had to grit my teeth for a while and I really wanted to get out and try to win a golf tournament again. I came in this week not playing particularly great but promised myself I’d stick to how I play this golf course. I did that and had two bogeys in 72 holes, which is good going around here. I felt good and I got over the line." Craig was dismayed about his final putt for birdie lipped out; " The putter was pretty cold the first nine but nobody was running away from it. Thomas made a charge but didn’t capitalise on the two par fives. That let me back in and I dug deep and managed to birdie the two par fives myself and gave myself a chance coming down the last and just lipped out on the last. I would certainly have taken second place before the week started. Even after the first round when I was level par and on the border cut line. So I’m delighted with my performance. Third place was captured by Victor Dubuisson of France, he finished with -19 under par total after his final round -5 under par 66. Congratulations to Thomas, this is his first win in two years, and it moves back into the top 45 in the Official World Golf Ranking. He also joins an elite group of players who have won the Omega European Masters multiple times since it became a European Tour event in 1972.  Seve Ballesteros (1977-78, 89), Hugh Baiocchi (1973, 79), Manuel Piñero (1976, 81), Eduardo Romero (1994, 2000) and now Thomas Björn (2011, 13).