RR Donnelley LPGA Founders Cup. Stacy Lewis Wins & is Rolex Rankings Number 1 March 18 2013

RRDonnelleyLPGAFoundersCup_188x84 Stacy Lewis won the RR Donnelley Foundation Cup, at the Wildfire Golf Club at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, and in doing so rose to Number 1 in the Rolex Women's World Golf Rankings.     Stacy Lewis with her Trophy / LPGA Stacy shot a last round -8 under par 64, to end with a score of -23 under par, to capture the title and also move to the number one position in the Rolex Women's World Golf Rankings. It was not an easy start for Stacy, at the beginning of the last round she trailed Ai Miyazato, of Japan, by four strokes.  Mainly due to an unfortunate two-stroke penalty she received on Saturday.  The penalty was added to her card after Stacy had completed her third round, when it was determined by the officials that her caddie, Travis Wilson, had violated rule 13-4 by moving sand in a bunker on the 16th hole. Stacy said she played great all day; " It's awesome, I played great today. Myself and Ai we just went back and forth all day; she was making putts, I was making putts." Ai was  in command of the tournament for most of the day, until a three-shot swing at the 16th gave Stacy the outright lead. Stacy was then able to capitalize on the uncharacteristic mistake and went on to record back-to-back birdies on the 16th and 17th and capture a three-stroke victory. Ai finished at -20 under par. Stacy said she was surprised that Ai had made a mistake, but was happy to make those last two putts; " I was certainly surprised she finished the way she did, but to make those two putts I did on 16 and 17 was pretty unbelievable and I'm just; I'm really speechless. I played great today and I was super motivated from all that happened yesterday and just happy for Travis." Ai admitted that it was indecision between clubs that resulted in the bad shot, she took a drop where she was, instead of going back to the spot she originally played from, because she thought it would be like playing a bunker shot; " My shot was like totally in between clubs, I hit the pitching wedge, but my instinct said that it was an easy nine, so it was a little bit indecisive and that's why I pulled my shot.  I went there and I take a look around, but it's just the same as like not easy from anywhere, you know?  I decided I would take a drop almost like in a bunker position and I thought we had that little backstop behind the pin so I thought I could make it stop a little bit more.  It was kind of a little flat when I dropped, so it was hard but it just happened like that.  It's a little unlucky I thought. All in all I had a good day, I have a good feeling and my play was really solid, just the one bad shot on 16.  I was a little disappointed.  But one bad shot this week, not bad, I'll take it, so it was a really fun day." Angela Stanford finished in third position, with a final score of -17 under par.