Volvo World Match Play Championship May 15 2012

Volvo World Match Play ChampionshipLogo European Tour small v4Ian Poulter () Group 1: (1) Martin Kaymer, (16) Rafael Cabrera Bello, (24) Richard Finch Group 2: (4) Graeme McDowell, (13) Robert Karlsson, (20) Jbe Kruger Group 3: (2) Justin Rose, (15) Robert Rock, (19) Darren Clarke Group 4: (3) Charl Schwartzel, (14) Nicolas Colsaerts, (18) Retief Goosen Group 5: (5) Sergio Garcia, (12) Alvaro Quiros, (22) Tetsuji Hiratsuka Group 6: (8) Ian Poulter, (9) John Senden, (23) Tom Lewis Group 7: (6) Peter Hanson, (11) Paul Lawrie, (21) Camilo Villegas Group 8: (7) Brandt Snedeker, (10) Thomas Bjorn, (17) Branden Grace Ian Poulter starts his defense of the Volvo World Match Play tournament in Andalucia Spain on Thursday against Australian John Senden. Ian has said he is ready for the cut and thrust of matchplay; "I love the cut and thrust of match play and find it a refreshing change from the usual stroke play format we play week in week out on the Tour. And with the fact it is Ryder Cup year, I think it will be even more exciting with every match from the group stages to the final a chance for aspiring team members to impress Captain Olazábal in what is our final chance to play match player before Medinah.” The host country has Rafael Cabrera Bello, Sergio Garcia and Alvaro Quiros to try and achieve a Spanish win, a feat last completed by Seve Ballesteros in 1991 at The Wentworth Club in England. England is represented by five players, more than any of the other nations, second is South Africa with four, Spain three, Northern Ireland and  Sweden both have two players, with Australia, Belgium, Colombia, Denmark, Germany, Japan, Scotland, United States, fielding one each. The lone American is seventh seeded Brandt Snedeker, who faces Denmark's Thomas Bjorn in the first round. All the  players are divided into eight groups of three. They play in a round-robin group format on Thursday and Friday. This will decide which 16 players progress to Saturday’s knock-out stage. The semi-finals and final will played on Sunday. The first 16 players have been seeded based upon their Official World Ranking Points as of Monday 14 May 2012. The eight un-seeded players will be drawn at random on Tuesday 15 May. Good luck to them all, I love watching matchplay, you either win your match or your out.