Rory McIlroy incurs a two-stroke penalty in Abu Dahbi January 27 2012

Rory McIlroy incurred a two stroke penalty during the second round of the HSBC tournament in Abu Dahbi. He was just off the green in two at the ninth hole when he bent down to brush away some sand that was not on the putting surface, this schoolboy error was punished after a referee had been called into action. He said about the incident; “Just wasn’t thinking, turned a routine 4 into a 6 there and just sort of undone all the great work to get back to even par.” Rory was not having a good day having started badly, being  in two bunkers on the first hole and then firing over the green at the third, taking two more shots to make it back to the putting surface and sadly carded a double bogey. He ended the day at three under par as a result, alongside Tiger Woods and two ahead of Luke Donald, but importantly four behind joint leaders Robert Karlsson and Thorbjorn Olesen. Rory McIlroy two-stroke penalty dents title hopes at Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship Photo: AP   Lee Westwood spent the day struggling with a neck problem, he survived to card level par with another 72, but he may have to withdraw if the pain increases, saying; "I've had it for about a month, but this is the first time I've played three days in a row since. The pain goes down into my elbow and it feels like somebody is driving a needle in there. If I'd hit it in the long rough I might have had to think about it, but hopefully I'll be ok tomorrow."   Martin Kaymer, the two-time defending champion, shot a 73 and finished at 6-over to miss the cut by four strokes. Tiger Woods is still making steady progress and is happy with his position at the half way stage; “I’m only two back. We have 36 holes to go and there’s a lot of guys that have got a chance to win this golf tournament, so certainly I need to do my job and progress up that leaderboard and see what happens.”